Board Minutes - Clayton Ridge Community School District | Where Excellence Is The Tradition

Board Minutes



                                                                  Clayton Ridge Board of Director’s

                                                                    Work Session/Regular Meeting

                                                                        Wednesday, May 9, 2018

                                                                                    6:00 PM                

The Clayton Ridge Board held a work session before their regular meeting in the Middle School Library.  Members in attendance were Heying, Ihde, Johnson, Reimer, Finnegan, Helle and Aulwes.   Also in attendance were Shane Wahls, Andy Peterson, David Schlueter, Mary Seifert, Kirk Ludberg and Jeff Michels.

The work session was held in order that members could be updated on the progress of the 2018 building project.  Estes Construction employees Kirk Ludberg and Jeff Michels presented a budget update, contingency and allowances, challenges and solutions and pending changes.   A listing of change orders was presented and discussed as well as the gym roof at the Guttenberg site.

The work session recessed at 7:05 PM in order to hold the regular meeting and resumed again at 9:02 PM to continue discussion.  The work session ended at 9:40 PM.

                                                                                Regular Meeting

Call to Order/Roll Call

The regular meeting was called to order by President Heying.   All members and administration attending the work session were also present for the regular meeting in addition to Steve Hoff.  Estes Construction employees left the meeting. 

Approval of Agenda

Motion by Finnegan and second by Helle to approve the agenda as presented.   Motion carried unanimously.


1.  Administrator’s Reports

Superintendent Wahls reported on a request to remove trees from the land adjacent to the middle school due to new construction, rescheduling the starting time for summer board meetings to 2:00 PM on the second Thursday of the month, costs for bullet proof glass in the new addition, the elimination of a bus route, some changes being made to the number of workers in each kitchen due to grade reconstruction and the superintendent evaluation.

Principal Peterson’s report addressed principal and building activities, progress of building construction, Iowa assessments, past and upcoming athletic activities, social media coordinator, intervention data, senior trip, prom and high school musical.

Steve Hoff’s report on the Iowa Virtual Academy addressed legislation changes, large number of enrollment applications, graduation numbers, a satisfaction survey completed by parents and re-registration for the 2018-19 school year.

2.  Through Board Members

Comments were heard regarding summer band lessons and the music programs.

Consent Agenda Items

Motion by Finnegan and second by Aulwes to approve the minutes of the April 12th and 17th meetings, financials presented by David Schlueter, listing of invoices and additional pay voucher requests totaling $2,679.91.  Motion carried unanimously.

New Business

1.  Employment

Motion by Reimer and second by Johnson to approve the recommended TLC positions for the 2018-2019 school year.  Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Reimer and second by Ihde to approve the hiring of Sherri Batts as Interpretor.  Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Helle and second by Aulwes to accept the resignation of Sharon Keehner as Assistant Drill Team Coach.  Motion carried unanimously.

2.  Approve Inter-fund Transfer & Resolution

Motion by Finnegan and second by Johnson to approve a resolution to transfer $165,000 from PPEL to the 2018 Building Project Fund to cover costs of Estes, BLDD and contractor payments.  Roll call vote:  all ayes.

3.  Approve AEA Technology Contract Agreement

Motion by Ihde and second by Aulwes to approve the AEA Technology Agreement to receive services provided by Travis Geuder at a cost of $39,366.38 per year for 3 days of service per week.  Motion carried unanimously.

4.  Approve Transportation Request

Motion by Johnson and second by Reimer to approve a transportation request from the Garnavillo Vacation Bible School to take a bus to a movie in Elkader on June 21, with driver costs and fuel expenses paid by the Bible School.  Motion carried unanimously.

5.  Approve Distribution of Diplomas for Class of 2018

Motion by Helle and second by Finnegan to approve the listing and distribution of the class of 2018 diplomas.  Motion carried unanimously.

6.  Approve Facility Use Agreement/Transportation Request

Motion by Ihde and second by Aulwes to approve a facility use agreement for the Garnavillo Clay Gar Legion to use the Middle School Gym for their annual Memorial Day services.  Motion carried unanimously.

7.   Open Enrollments

Motion by Finnegan and second by Helle to deny thirty-seven open enrollment applications into the Iowa Virtual Academy due to late filing and resident district denials.  Motion carried unanimously.

8.  Approval of ESY Hours

Motion by Aulwes and second by Ihde to approve 20 hours of extended school year services for Lori Bunting in order to provide services to several special education students as determined by their IEP.  Motion carried unanimously.

9.  Approval of 2018 Audit Proposal

Motion by Ihde and second by Aulwes to approve the audit proposal from O’Connor Brooks & Co. for fiscal year 2018 in the amount of $14,500. Motion carried unanimously.

10. First Reading of Board Policy 704.2R1

A first reading of policy 704.2R1 – Post-Issuance Compliance Regulation for Tax-Exempt Obligations was held.   A second reading and approval will be held at the June meeting.

11.  Summer Technology Help

Motion by Reimer and second by Finnegan to approve Deb Henkes and Kathy Connelly as summer technology help.  Motion carried unanimously.


Motion by Helle and second by Johnson to adjourn at 9:01 PM.



Mary Seifert, Board Secretary


                                             Approved this _____ day of June, 2018


                                             John Heying, Board President








© 2018 Clayton Ridge Community School District. All Rights Reserved.